Writing 101: Commit to a Writing Practice

by advocateofentropy

Writing 101: Commit to a Writing Practice

15 minutes about the 3 most important songs in my life …


1. Jean Michel Jarre – Oxygene Part 1-6

This song, more than any other, can remind me of my father. It was this vinyl record I found on the attic when I was 14 years old. After hearing the record once our record player broke down and 3 whole years I nearly forgot it. And it’s magic.
Only on the internet (boy was it slow back then) I stumbled upon the track in the early YouTube. Again enchanted, I traded a crate of best Flensburger Beer for a 25 year old record player that didn’t work. I repaired it (cost me half my nerves) and soon I also found the record itself again and played both sides for hours and hours. I really is pure magic.

2. Edvard Grieg – Peer Gynt Suite No. 1 (The Hall of the Mountain King)

Again this song is bound to a childhood memory waaay back. I was … 7 or 8, maybe 9 … when my mother baught a classics CD for me. It said Peer Gynt, whom I didn’t know and his name sounded awkward. It took me five days to convince myself of playing it in my new stereo.
And just after the first few notes … the tempo is rising … blowers and strings rise upon the kettledrum and … BAM!, there he is: the Mountain King, so run! Run little fella (I always imagined I was a rabbit who accidently tribbled into his kingdom and now had to flee, because it was forbidden), don’t get caught by the earthen emperor! For realsies I think that this song somehow opened my doors to imagination and fantasy worlds. Thanks, Mr. Grieg!

3. Interludes – “The Three Investigators”

Seems like I had the most impressionable contacts with music during my childhood, for these interludes were nothing great and only filled the spaces between spoken text and changes of scenery. But yet even if I hear one of the plays today … before my inner eye I can see the wind moving in the trees outside my window and dark clouds brushing the shining moon … Somehow I relate peace and comfort with these tiny musical pieces.

